Love, Love, Love

I love my parents.

I love my new pink shirt from Gap Pure Body. I love being able to braid my hair. I love the combination of cheese and hot sauce, I love sleeping in, I love hugs and I love a good melody. I love three in the afternoon in the summer, when the sunlight through the leaves takes on the most radiant green color and it looks like every plant is glowing. I love my brother, and always have, even when he used to wake me up by turning my reading lamp on in my face and slamming my bedroom door.

I love the feeling of being completely surrounded by blankets and pillows. I love the taste of ice-cold water when it’s hot out. I love the exhilaration that hits when you’ve finished a particularly good run. I love the moment of stepping into a shower at the perfect temperature. I love the smell of vanilla.

I love the easy, casual touch of a friend’s hand. I love the feeling of being packed in between other people on a couch. I love learning about people who cared about their lives and the lives of others. I love reading stories.

I love the people who surround me: my coworkers, my company staff members, my friends, my acquaintances, the people I see every day as I cross Montrose to head to the Brown Line on my way to work. I love the taste of almonds. I love nice, thick socks. I love the way laughter sounds when it is startled out of you, like a champagne bubble emerging from what you thought was a simple chardonnay.

There’s a lot to love in this world, and I’ll take the opportunities I get to remember all of it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Musings

Leave a Reply

