Fab Not Flab

Maybe this is hypocritical of me because I’ve gone on the Keto Diet with friends in order to get back down to my fighting weight, but with full, carb-craving-inducing winter upon us, I just want to remind everyone of something:

Your worth does not depend on how you look.

And 10 to 1 odds that your friends think you look great.

It just makes me so sad to hear one of my most stunningly beautiful friends confess how unsure of herself she feels because the one area of her body she’s identified as a “problem” hasn’t entirely gone away.

It makes me even more sad to think of the number of times in the past month that I’ve overheard men talking about women solely in terms of their appearance, and rating (and judging) them based on such.

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: I am not immune to body issues. I try to keep myself honest about it. Right now I’m aware that I’m carrying around a little extra weight because of a year of drinking a lot and eating mainly Trader Joe’s frozen meals and not getting to the gym as much as usual. I’m working on getting back to “my normal” (which is not, may I add, anywhere near the Hollywood ideal; even at “normal” I have some meat on my bones) by cutting back on my drinking, going to the gym more, and yes, trying out the low-carb thing, mostly because what my friends were eating on this “diet” sounded really, really good to me and I didn’t want to have to keep hearing about it and not being a part of it.

This is an internal as well as an external reminder: Fully one half of the people I have had strong crushes on in my life carried a few extra pounds on them. It didn’t matter. It doesn’t matter. It shouldn’t matter. I am not Jennifer Lawrence. You are not Bradley Cooper. Neither of us is trying or should try to be.

Yes, get exercise, because it feels wonderful. Yes, eat vegetables and protein and stop when you’re sated. No, please don’t spend too much time standing on the scale or staring in the mirror. And try to carry that over to how you treat and judge other people, too.

Please and thank you.

Leave a comment

Filed under Rants

Leave a Reply

