Elbow Room

Did you know that my great-great-great-great-great-great-granduncle was Daniel Boone?

Well now you do.

It’s not that remarkable, I don’t think. He had a big family, and I’m not even a direct descendent. But still, a fun cocktail party fact to momentarily blow the minds of American history buffs in the crowd.

Daniel Boone, if you don’t know, was the American pioneer who blazed the Kentucky Way and famously exclaimed that he needed his “elbow room”–that an area was too busy for him if he could see the smoke from his nearest neighbor’s chimney.

And as distant as he is from me, man, do I understand him sometimes.

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, I love people. The thing is, I love people so much that I don’t really let them go. I get excited about new people and new groups of friends, but I’m still in touch with people with whom I went to elementary school. I currently have over a thousand Facebook friends. That’s after getting rid of the people I have never communicated with on Facebook.

I’m not trying to brag, I’m trying to express: That can be kind of a lot.

We’re in writing mode for our newest show, but it’s tough to balance carving out time to write with the housework and feeding myself and working a full-time job and doing administrative stuff for the theatre company and trying to enjoy the summer with my friends.

I’m thinking about a vacation, just me. Take a train to Michigan or Wisconsin, book a B&B, write in a journal, brainstorm ideas for the play I’m writing as well as for the musical I’m helping to write, drink a glass of expensive wine, and have an adventure. It sounds really nice. I just have to decide to do it, and then actually do it.

Anyway, what I mean is that if you ask if I’m around for something and I make an excuse, it’s nothing personal. Sometimes I just need my elbow room.

And I’d really prefer not to go to Kentucky to find it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Musings

Leave a Reply

