A Confession

Sometimes the coolest, most independent, strongest, fiercest, funniest, smartest girls feel small and dull and unseen and unappreciated.

Sometimes they don’t know what it is they want, or what it is you want, or what they’re supposed to do.

Sometimes they don’t know which messages to pay attention to and which ones to ignore. Because girls that smart and cool know their own limits, and know they don’t know everything.

Sometimes they get upset for no reason they can articulate. And sometimes they get frustrated with themselves for being upset, because they know all of the wonderful things they have going for them. They know all the things they’d say to their fierce and beautiful friends if they were feeling the same way. They know those things are still true.

And then sometimes, on a weird day, I hit “reply all” to an email about Thanksgiving templates with a mild joke about Canadians and realize that I sent it to 400 people, including my boss’s boss, and get pointedly asked if I meant to send that to the entire department, and start daydreaming about people with hockey sticks coming to my desk to beat the crap out of me.

And I laugh. And tell my friends it could be worse.

They could be Canadian.

4 Comments

Filed under Musings

4 responses to “A Confession

  1. Ooof. I’m actually kinda bummed I didn’t get that e-mail.

    And what if they were cute Canadians with hockey sticks?

  2. Kayleigh

    I love you a lot.

  3. Kayleigh

    Also Angela and I are going to watch the BC-ND game at a bar on Saturday and I will probably get the crap beat out of me for supporting BC. Want to come help us cheer??

Leave a Reply

