I Am Your Density

Did you know* that surgeons try to avoid surgery on the full moon, because people bleed more during the full moon?

I love the thought of that. Not bleeding, of course, but the idea that just as the moon’s gravitational pull affects the waves in the ocean, so in miniature does it affect the pulse–that we have tides inside us that are connected to our environment, even to heavenly bodies.

I’m not into astrology, I’m into physics. Into really thinking about the implications of various observable phenomena, and appreciating how incredible the world that includes them is.

Remembering that we still don’t really understand gravity. Remembering that every object exerts a gravitational pull on surrounding objects. Realizing that however we’re operating, out of our conscious will, we’re being unconsciously affected by everything around us.

I like thinking about the documented fact that behavior on average becomes more erratic during the full moon. I like to think that maybe it has something to do with that pull, that tug at our very blood cells that makes people want to get outside and move and make something happen, even if that something is crazy. Maybe especially if that something is crazy. I like the idea that we all go a little crazy at the same time every month.

Make a crack about menstruation and I’ll smack you.

Maybe someday I’ll ramble about Heisenberg and the question of the observer in physics and consciousness and twinned electrons and the things that happen on a quantum level. Probably not, because I don’t have the background to actually do any of these subjects justice. More likely I’ll just stand around mumbling unintelligibly about science, making points at about the level of profundity as marijuana-induced epiphanies.

Science, man. You can’t make this stuff up.**

 

*I heard this yesterday and if it’s not true I don’t want to hear it. I like it being true.

**Ok, you probably could.

4 Comments

Filed under Musings

4 responses to “I Am Your Density

  1. M

    Not to be a buzzkill (he said, killing the buzz), but isn’t that kind of a life-threatening tendency? I don’t really want someone weighing a dubious fact against performing potentially time-sensitive medical operations.

  2. Eh, I don’t know how much it actually affects policy. I just think it’s an interesting idea. I’m skeptical about implementation as well.

    Now stop killing the buzz.

  3. stelepami

    I don’t remember if you were in that project course in Winter07 cotaught by Steve Kennedy from the Math department and Ruth. If you were, then you might know why I’m thinking of Copenhagen by Michael Frayn right now. If not, go read it. We read a lot of good plays in that class, and the one chosen for production was perhaps the least of them. (But Ruth had already directed Arcadia within the previous 4 or 5 years, so I guess she couldn’t do it again so soon.)

Leave a Reply

